Home

Allow me to re-introduce myself

Hello, lovely readers! There’s a lot of new faces here lately and I’ve been making some content shifts. You might have noticed that things are changing. I’m re-focusing my blog toward my weight loss journey, but I’m going to share a bit of everything else – books, podcasts, adventures I take, recipes that I try. It’s going to be fun! So, let me introduce myself.

My name is Stephanie. I’m 27 years old, a mom to a 4-year old Maine Coon/Norwegian Forest mix (basically the dog of the feline world), and am surviving pandemic quarantine with my family on Long Island. Currently, I work in sales for a publisher in NYC and right now I am counting my blessings that I can continue working from home until, at least, 2021.

I started this blog in 2015 when I needed an outlet for my creative times of the day. There is a novel in the works, but it’s on ice for now. On March 21, 2019 I decided that it was time to, more seriously, work on my health and overall wellness, but I’ll talk more about that soon!

Family

Born and raised on Long Island, New York, I live with my mom and dad, and I am the second oldest of four kids. My older sister is 32 years old (Sadie sadie, married lady…), my younger sister is 25 (she and I are 20 months apart), and my not-so-baby brother is 22 years old. My family is of Italian (mom’s side) and Greek (dad’s side) descent and I like to think that I represent both sides equally. Up until 2011, my Poppa owned a masonry supply store in Woodside, Queens. My Papou owned a dinette when I was a kid, but we weren’t as close so I don’t know when it closed down. Both sides of my family are made of hard-working immigrant entrepreneurs. One day, I hope to continue their legacy when I open my own bookstore somewhere; however, I inherited most of my genes from my shopaholic Nonna. Budgets and money management aren’t my thing, but I sure can spend money faster than you can blink. Haha!

Fun fact…my brother, brother-in-law, and I all graduated this year – both with their Bachelor’s degree and I with my Master’s. None of us had real ceremonies, but we are planning a massive celebration for next summer (complete with a rental tikki bar and a playlist of only the truest musical bops ever), since we couldn’t be together this year. #socialdistancing

A Day-in-the-Life

Currently, I live at home with my family on Long Island and I work as a Sales Representative, for a literary merchandise company, in NYC. In May, I graduated from Pace University with my Master’s of Science in Publishing in the hopes of one day getting involved in book publicity. That’s the five-year plan, anyway. The 15-year plan is to open my own independent bookstore someplace. I’m just not sure where quite yet.

Pre-pandemic, my life was spent as a daily commuter — a regular old 9-to-5’er, and I loved it. I thrive on stability, routines, and having an office to go into for work. Working from home has been both a blessing and a curse during this time. It’s given me time to workout more and sleep slightly longer in the mornings, but now I don’t have any clue where the work day ends and personal time begins. I long for the day when it is safe enough to go back to the office with all of my colleagues.

For the time being, I’m single, but I hope to fall in love and get married before settling down in some secluded area with an enormous house and lots of quiet spaces. I don’t have any children, have no plans to have children, and am perfectly happy with the idea of one day serving as a gift-giving aunt to my siblings eventual children.

I share a lot of my day on Instagram. If you want to follow me and my journey there, then it’s @stephaniefidis or @bookslothlife for fun book recommendations!

Likes

When I’m not working, I’m doing a myriad of different things: writing, cooking, working out (running, boxing, walking), playing videogames, re-watching Supernatural and Once Upon a Time, napping, shopping, spending time with family, and more! My idea of fashion right now is a pair of Fabletics leggings, Nike sports bra, and a pair of running shoes. If I have to run errands, I’ll throw on a denim jacket. Now that fall is arriving, I’ll throw on one of my many leather jackets. I LOVE leather jackets (faux-leather, if I am being honest). I own several and am looking for that perfect shade of red leather like Emma Swan. Speaking of Emma, I’m constantly working on growing out my hair and dyeing it blonde like hers. If buying hair products is a crime, then throw me in shackles and lock me up for good. Haha!

I love sitting on the beach — my favorite vacation spot is Ocean City, MD. #IYKYK

In regards to politics, I am liberal — a registered Democrat. I enjoy engaging in conversations — fiery or friendly — about social justice issues that I am definitely going to get into at a later date. While we are on the subject, PLEASE VOTE this November. Are you age eligible? Have you registered? (NY has until 10/9 to register) What’s your voter plan — voting in person or requesting a ballot? VOTE!

Food & Weight, and Mental Health

I’ve been overweight most of my life. I’ve always been the “fat friend” in my circles, and I came to accept that. In high school, I tried Jenny Craig with my mom and ended up snacking so much that I gained 15 lbs. In college, I gained about 45 lbs, and then another 25 lbs when I was depressed and living on my own. The older I get, the harder it gets to lose the weight, but that doesn’t stop me from my trying. I don’t have the healthiest relationship with food, but it’s a work in progress. We cook every night at home and my family plans meals weekly when we make the grocery list. My weakness is sugar and on top of all that I struggle with an eating disorder, depression, and anxiety. None of these are excuses for my weight. They are the hurdles I face.

As a kid…and teen…and as an adult, honestly, I hated physical activity. I used to play soccer, attempted lacrosse in college, and made a sad attempt at going to the gym when I first got my membership at Planet Fitness. I used to hate walking the three blocks to my grandmother’s house. It’s one of the reasons I started this journey. I knew that I was being lazy and turning my body into this super unhealthy lump. I’m horribly introverted and extremely shy which made it harder for me to find the confidence I needed to start going to the gym, workout classes, or even for a walk by myself. At 280 lbs., I was afraid of being judged for even trying. I hated myself, my appearance, and I didn’t see the value in even making an attempt to be normal.

NOW

Now, I am a little healthier, slightly happier, and more sure of who I am. I take more chances in life, I do more solo activities, and I’m not as afraid as I was of what other people will think of me. I even do classes over Zoom and FaceTime with my awesome personal trainer. Stephanie of two years ago never would have done that!

I go for 3 mile walks on the weekend…FOR FUN! I have my membership at Planet Fitness, though I won’t be using it for a few more months still. I run on the treadmill often with the help of my Aaptiv app. I have dumbbells and resistance bands and sliding disks and a kettlebell. I know it’s silly to wish we could change the past, but I want to make it known that my one regret is letting my depression get the best of me in college because I could have been working out and losing weight this whole time! BUT…we will focus our energy on the future.

I’m enjoying being single with little to no commitments in life, and I’m doing what I can to lead a healthier life overall. I just have one request from everyone, anyone, who reads this.

Be kind to people. Kindness goes a really long way and if there’s one thing I really hate it’s when someone goes out of their way to say something rude or try to bring someone down. If you have nothing nice to say, don’t do it. Please? Let’s practice creating the energy we want to see in 2021!

Thanks for reading! See ya soon!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s